Shard of the Year Contest


2022 Shard of the Year Contest Winners

Shard of the Year (“SOTY”) is held in memory of Joanne Schrieber, founder of the 2004 North East Sea Glass Festival. Private collectors are given an opportunity to show off some of their collections and win a cash prize.  Will this year be your favorite finds?

A grand prize is awarded to the winner of the Overall Beauty category.

Subsequent categories:

  • Frosted Bottles
  • Pottery/Ceramics
  • Whimsical/Toys
  • Bottle Stopper
  • Most Unusual
  • Historical
  • Art Glass
  • Marbles
  • Buttons, Beads and Gems
  • Figural

All shards of genuine sea glass from around the world are eligible for entry, not just shards from “North America.”

Shards entered in the Shard of the Year Contest must be submitted by the person who found the specimens.  Submitted entries must be authentic, unaltered and naturally found at/in the body of water stated on the Shard of the Year entry card.

Must be present to win.

The Shard of the Year contest is sponsored by the North American Sea Glass Association.